If your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher, it is illegal to drive in the state of Illinois. Those that do will be charged with a DUI. With Illinois’s implied consent law, all drivers give consent to breathalyzers and blood and urine tests. However, police officers need a reason to believe that he or she is under the influence of alcohol.
The State of Illinois issues heavy fines and other penalties to drivers who are convicted of a DUI.
The cost of a DUI conviction for first-time offenders is approximately $18,000. Drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence pay significant amounts of money for bail, bond, attorney fees, fines, court-ordered assessments, treatment programs and high-risk driver insurance.
If you were convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs you will more than likely need to obtain and maintain SR-22 insurance. A certificate of financial responsibility lasts an average of three years. Most insurance agencies can provide a SR22 the same day you request it with electronic filings.