Driving without insurance is a serious offense. If people drive without insurance, their driver’s license will be suspended and they will face several other fines and penalties. The penalties increase based on the number of offenses.
In Illinois, drivers must have an active car insurance policy and carry proof of insurance in their cars. Drivers who get caught without insurance face serious penalties, including fees. States base insurance violations two ways:
- Failure to provide proof of insurance
- Driving without insurance
These violations have different sets of penalties. Failure to provide insurance fines will not be as severe as fines for not having insurance at all.
In Illinois, a first-time conviction for driving without insurance comes with a three-month license suspension, a mandatory $500 fine (minimum) plus court costs and an additional $100 license reinstatement fee. Drivers may also be required to file an SR22 for driving without insurance.
If you are pulled over by a police officer and do not have car insurance, your car can also be impounded. You will need to pay the towing and impound fees which will cost a few hundred dollars.